Saturday, October 10, 2015

Review : All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Young Adult, Mental Illness, Death, Suicide, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary, Romance,
Goodreads: Click
Pages: 388
Published January 6th 2015 by Knopf 
Purchase Link: Amazon | Kindle


The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


"What a terrible feeling to love someone and not be able to help them."

Finch is trying to find himself by trying on different personas to figured out which on is the real him. Which one makes him feel like his true self but as times goes on he sinks the deeper into depression. Violet is going through some survivors guilt after the death of her sister in a car crash.

Two very different people, Violet & Finch, find themselves on the ledge of the school and as Finch talks them both off the ledge. From then on there's the connection between the two, as well as a school project, that leads them to wander different place and learn more about each other and themselves.

"The problem with people is that they forget that most of the time it's the small things that count."

Wow, that ending truly I wasn't expecting it. If you have read this book please write your comments below. Trust me when I say this book will pull on some heart strings and really get you to think about mental illness and depression and suicide in a different way... I just can't get over how it ended. I think there were bits and pieces in seeing Finch change and it was hard to see how that ending would've made sense, this is basing it off of his point of view. In the beginning I think it would've make sense how the ending turned out but I thought things were getting better for him. As for Violets point of view I should've expected how it turned out there were little signs on him sinking and not really coming out of that funk. I loved that Finch was able to help Violet and change. I just overall really loved this book. I was able to get this from the library, but I feel like this is one of those books that I can read a couple more times and not get tired so I'll be sure to head to the store and buy a copy of this book it's worth it. Highly Recommend!

"The thing I realize is, that it's not what you take, it's what you leave."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...