Monday, March 17, 2014

Review : Third Degree

Third Degree by Julie Cross

Release is March 25, 2014
Published by Flirt (Imprint of Random House)
Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Advance praise for Third Degree

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight
“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series
“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series

My Thoughts :

Isabel is a child prodigy and finds out she managed  fail the last exam to become a surgeon. Relaxing is not a word in her vocabulary ever since she was little she was studying or learning something. Shes never really had normal experiences and during this down time she's going to try to do normal things girls her age do and re enters college. Isabel may be a genius in the medical area but not so much when it comes to social situations. In college with the help of her RA, Marsh she learns how to be a bit more social and learns more about her self and her family even when things are falling apart.

This book was pretty funny and I couldn't help but laugh a couple times earning myself a couple of stink eyes from the random people around me. So as a warning you might not want to read this in public if you don't want to seem like a random laughing weirdo :-). This book was great. I loved the characters, this book was fast paced and there was never a dull moment. I liked that this book was a unique read. I loved the connection between Marsh and Isabel. I loved everything about this book and highly recommend you lovely readers to check it out. 5 of 5 stars!
Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for reviewing THIRD DEGREE. Sorry for the stink eye in public. ;)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...